Design, Seasonal

Star Spangled Banner | DIY

Image of DIY graphicIn honor of Independence Day this Friday, I thought I’d bring you a few patriotic posts. This first one is, drum roll please, a Star Spangled Banner! It’s a totally cheesy name, I know, but sometimes you have to be a Cheese-ball Babe to be properly festive.

This is a super basic paper flag banner that you attach to string with tape. And as if that’s not simple enough, I’ve made the flags for you! I’ve designed 4 pattern pages that make 3 flags each. Just click on the pdf below, print out the pages, & follow along with me, Babes.

Star Spangled Banner Printable

Photo of Banner SuppliesYou can print these flags onto card stock if you’d like them to be a little more firm, but I printed mine on copy paper.

Close Up Photo of SuppliesThen I assembled my supplies: Printed Pattern Pages, Cutting Mat, X-acto Knife, Straight Edge, Hole Punch, String, Blue & Red Washi Tape

Photo of 3 Cut Out FlagsNext I cut out my flags from the printed pattern pages.

Photo of All Cut Out FlagsYou can print more pages than just the 4 I did if you want to create a longer banner or multiple banners.

Photo of Flags in Pattern ArrangementOnce I cut out all of my flags, I organized them into a pleasing pattern arrangement.

Photo of Measuring the Banner StringNow grab your string. I chose a simple (inexpensive) butchers twine. Measure out the length you need to accommodate all your flags. I like to lay out my flags, spaced how I’d like them to hang, & then place the string over top to get the total length I need.

Photo of Flag with Punched HolesThere are many ways you can mount your flags to your string. I’ll show you two easy options. The first is to punch two holes at the top of your flag.

Photo of Flag Thread Onto StringThen thread your flag onto your string like so. If you chose this method, carry on punching & threading your flags.

Photo of Taping the Top of the FlagOption 2 is to tape the flags onto the string. This is the method I chose because I like the look of the tape at the top & because I have been hoarding washi tape & rarely using it! You’re welcome to use any other tape you fancy. Cut a length of tape & place  in along the top of the flag, overlapping the edge at about halfway up the width of the tape.12_fold over tapeFlip over your flag & place the string along the tape. Fold over the unstuck half of the tape onto the back of the flag, securing the string inside.

13_contin tapingContinue taping your flags until they’re all adhered to the string.

Photo of Finished Star Spangled BannerAnd tada! A Star Spangled Banner! Hang this babe up & let your patriotism shine.Close Up Photo of Finished Star Spangled Banner

What other Independence Day crafts or decor are you babes working on for this weekend’s festivities?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Star Spangled Banner | DIY

  1. Pingback: 4th of July | The Look | Babe Daily

  2. Pingback: 4th of July Menu | Babe Daily

What do you think, Babe?

