Food

Weekly Dinner Menu 07.07.14

Image of weekly menu graphicHappy Monday Babes! Hope you didn’t go too hard this 4th of July weekend.

My boo will be off on a motorcycle adventure the next few weeks, so I’m making some of my fave meals while it’s just me eating.

Here’s what’s cooking’ this week!


Monday– Bean & Cheese Burritos w/ chips & salsa

Cover a tortilla with your bean-of-choice & top with shredded cheddar cheese. Wrap up your burrito, cover it in a damp paper towel & microwave until warmed through. Serve with tortilla chips (I like these blue corn chips) & your favorite salsa.

Tuesday– Strip Steak w/ Cilantro-Garlic Fries & salad

Bring your steak to room temp. before cooking & season to taste (I go simple with just salt). I pan fry my steak on high heat in a touch of olive oil for 5 mins per side for medium rare. You could be a total Summer Babe & prepare your steak on the grill. Here’s a helpful chart for cooking times. For the fries, toss a handful of cilantro, a garlic clove, and a fat pinch of salt into a food processor & pulse until pretty well chopped & combined. Toss fresh-out-the-oven fries in the cilantro-garlic mix & serve immediately with your steak & salad.

WednesdaySouthwestern Chopped Salad w/ BBQ chicken

I’m adding a BBQ chicken breast from last week’s menu to the salad.

Thursday– Spaghetti Bolognese w/ salad

I tried this slow cooker sauce a while back & OMG Babes, it’s too good! It makes a ton, (I cut the recipe in half ) & freezes nicely.

Friday– Eat Out

Saturday– Eat Out

Sunday– Roasted Chicken Thighs w/ sautéed spinach & mashed potatoes

I adore roasted bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs. The naughty feeling of eating the savory, crispy skin right out of the oven is something I look forward to all day. I toss my bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs olive oil & season them simply in salt & pepper (shocking). I cook them in a 400° oven for about 25-30 mins. If your chicken starts to get too browned too soon, tent it with some foil, then remove the foil the last few minutes to get that skin nice & crispy. Make sure the chicken reaches 165° before you take it out to serve. For the spinach, I heat a little olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Then I rinse the spinach &, with the water clinging to the leaves, add it to the pan. Let it wilt down in the steam & sauté it until bright green. Cut the heat, add a squeeze of lemon juice, & season to taste with salt & pepper. Serve immediately with the chicken & mashed potatoes.

Weekly Dessert– Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sometimes a babe just has to bust out the Pillsbury & let that little dough boy do the work.

What do you like to have when it’s just you for dinner?

Standard

What do you think, Babe?

