Food

Weekly Dinner Menu 07.21.14

Image of weekly menu graphicHappy Monday Babes!

My boo is still off on his motorcycle adventure (I’m ready for him to be back now), so again this week it’s some of this babe’s faves.

Here’s what I’m making!


Monday– Fettuccine in Tomato Cream Sauce

This sauce is so simple & flavorful. It’s becoming one of my go-to Meatless Monday dishes.

Tuesday– Carne Asada Nachos

I make this carne asada (but seared up in a pan because I’m grill-less) & then chop it into small pieces. Pre-heat your oven up to 425°. I’m very meticulous when it comes to nachos. On a foil-lined baking sheet, I lay out each chip in a single layer so each chip is thoroughly topped. Then I load up the toppings (I like black beans, sliced olives, & corn). I top the chips with a thin layer of mexican cheese blend, then the carne asada, & another layer of cheese. The nachos then go in the oven to let all that cheese get nice & melty (5-10 mins). While the nachos are in the over, I mash-up some avocado with a little salt & lime (you can make full-on guacamole if you please). When I take the nachos out of the over, I top them with cilantro, sour cream, & the avocado. I devour them immediately. This week’s Hump Day Treat is a margarita that would be a perfect pairing to wash down these nachos, so keep an eye out for Wednesday’s post!

Wednesday– Indian Spiced Chicken w/ rice & butternut squash

I’m going to marinate a boneless/ skinless chicken breast like these skewers & fry it up (over medium high heat) in a little olive oil until cooked through (make sure the breast reaches 165°). I’ll serve the chicken over rice with roasted butternut squash & top it all with some greek yogurt.

Thursday– Steak Salad w/ Cilantro Chimichurri

I’ll make this salad, but swap the parsley in the chimichurri for cilantro.

Friday– Chicken w/ roasted potatoes & carrots

Cut the potatoes & carrots into equal sized small pieces & toss them all in olive oil, salt, & pepper. Place the veg, in a single layer, on a baking sheet & roast at 475° until golden & caramelized, about 30 minutes. In the meantime, I’ll season my boneless/skinless chicken breast in poultry seasoning then pan fry in it a little olive oil over a medium high heat until cooked through (remember, it’s got to reach an internal temp of 165°).

Saturday– Eat Out

Sunday– Sausage Sandwich w/ salad

Sausage sandwiches are a staple for BBQs in my family. Because I don’t have a grill, I make my sausages in the oven. I simply wrap up a mild italian sausage in foil & roast at 425° for about 30 minutes. Then, I open up the foil & let the sausage brown up on top. I put my bun in at the same time to toast. I take out both the sausage & bun to let the sausage rest while I make the salad. I dress my sausage sandwich with a bit of mayo & serve it with the salad.

Weekly Dessert– Pound Cake with Berries & Whipped Cream

My mom (the Supreme Babe) would always take a helping hand from Sara Lee & buy the frozen pound cake & defrost it before dinner, so now I do the same. To balance out the store-bought, I whip up heavy cream & a little powdered sugar into fresh whipped cream. To assemble, place a slice of the cake on a plate, then top with berries (I’m opting for sliced strawberries) & the fresh whipped cream.

What are some of your go-to dinners?

Standard

What do you think, Babe?

