Food

Weekly Dinner Menu 08.11.14

Image of weekly menu graphic

I have been feeling so ill the past few days, & this morning was the worst yet (happy monday to me). Hopefully I won’t be a sicko much longer.

Here’s what’s cookin’ this week.


 

Monday– Spinach Ravioli in a Vodka Sauce

I have tasked my boo with handling dinner at least one night a week. This week, he’s making prepared spinach ravioli in a jarred vodka sauce. We’ll see how it fares. If you want to DIY this dinner you can try these ravioli & this sauce.

Tuesday– Sausage Sandwiches w/ cole slaw

As I have said before, sausage sandwiches are a staple in my family. Because I don’t have a grill, I make my sausages in the oven. I simply wrap up a mild italian sausage in foil & roast at 425° for about 30 minutes. Then, I open up the foil & let the sausage brown up on top. I put my bun in at the same time to toast. I take out both the sausage & bun to let the sausage rest for a few minutes. I dress my sausage sandwich with a bit of mayo & serve it with the slaw. I’ll be making the Carrot-Pineapple Slaw (#13) from Food Network Magazine’s 50 Slaw Recipes along side the sandwiches

Wednesday– Mustard Milanese w/ arugula salad

Give me a thin piece of breaded & fried meat, & I’m a satisfied babe. Adding mustard to the mix is just too wonderful. This is recipe from The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook by Deb Perelman. This is absolutely one of my most coveted cookbooks (a lovely gift from my boo’s family) & I recommend you check it out. This recipe is pretty much your basic chicken milanese with the spicy addition of Dijon & garlic to the egg coating. The salad is simply arugula & shaved fennel dressed in mustard, lemon juice, & olive oil. This recipe is a decent parallel to Deb’s.

Thursday– Sausage, Chile, & Chickpea Casserole

This recipe is from another well-loved cookbook Fast and Simple Step By Step. I bought this one on a whim on because it was on clearance, and it has turned out to be a fabulous score. The recipes are so simple & the step by step photography is so helpful. This casserole was the first recipe I wanted to make, & years later I’m finally doing it (isn’t that always the case)!

You heat 2 tbsp of olive oil in flameproof casserole over medium heat & fry 1 sliced onion for 5 mins. Then you add 1 sliced yellow bell pepper, 1 crushed garlic clove, & 1 tsp chili flakes in & cook for 2 minutes, stirring. I’m substituting Italian sausage for the 8 oz chopped Chorizo because that’s what I bought for Tuesday’s sandwiches. Add 14 oz canned chopped tomatoes, 14 oz drained, canned chickpeas, & the sausage to the casserole and season with salt & pepper. Bring it all to a boil, cover, then reduce to a simmer & let that go for 10 minutes. In the meantime, prepare your favorite rice. After the 10 minutes simmer is up, stir in a handful of arugula. Serve the casserole over the rice & garnish with a bit of torn basil.

Friday– Halibut Tacos w/ rice & black beans

Like a true Alaskan, I’ve got a freezer full of halibut that my boo, his parents, & I caught last season. In an effort to chip away at that massive stash, I’m making these baja style fish tacos.

Saturday– Eat Out

Sunday– Quiche Lorraine w/ salad

I really do love a good quiche. They are a great option for entertaining because they can be served warmed through or room temperature. I’ll be whipping up this quiche and serving it alongside a green salad.

Weekly Dessert– Pineapple “Sherbet” w/ Mango Cake

I found a Mango Pudding Cake in the bakery section of my market & couldn’t leave without it. I’m not crazy about mango myself, but my boo is all about that tropical flavor. I though it would pair nicely with some faux sherbet. I’ll freeze some cut-up pineapple, then puree it with a little coconut milk until it reaches a creamy consistency. Boom! Summertime sweetness.

What is your favorite summer dessert?

Standard

What do you think, Babe?

