Food

Weekly Dinner Menu 09.08.14

Image of weekly menu graphic

Happy Monday Babes!

It’s been slowly getting chillier here in Anchorage, and as I look out onto the partially cloudy day, I’m starting to crave more warming, comfort foods. So, this week I’ll be cooking up a few Autumn-style dishes to sooth my chilling soul.

Here’s what’s cooking.


Monday– Rigatoni Caprese

My boo will be busting out this one (#49) from Food Network’s 50 Pasta Dinners.

Tuesday– Ground Beef Tacos w/ Rice & Beans

A Taco Tuesday staple, these Ground Beef Tacos are layered with savory beef, shredded lettuce, sharp cheddar, cool sour cream, & diced tomatoes (hot sauce optional, but not really). To make the beef, season ground beef with taco seasoning & brown in a bit of oil over medium high heat. Drain the fat, scoop into a hard taco shell, and load up with above toppings. Serve with rice & refried beans.

Wednesday– Creamy Chicken & Wild Rice Soup

This slow-cooker take on chicken & rice soup sounds like the perfect comfort meal served up with a thick slice of garlic bread.

Thursday– Tot-Topped Shepherd’s Pie

This is a new creation born from the dozens of breakfast casseroles pins I’ve been seeing on Pinterest. I’ll make a standard Shepherd’s Pie, but swap the mash top for a layer of frozen tater tots.

Friday– Meatball Sandwiches w/ Chop Salad

Because I’ll be using frozen Italian style meatballs, I’ll be making the salad myself. It’s all about balance, Babes. I’ll simmer the meatballs in tomato sauce (seasoned with dried basil, thyme, oregano, garlic powder & onion powder) until heated through. Then I’ll plop a few meatballs on a toasted roll, top them with shredded mozzarella, & put the sandwiches under to broiler until the cheese is melted. I’ll serve them with this CPK Italian Chopped Salad dupe.

Saturday– Eat Out

Sunday– Eat Out (for my boo’s birthday!)

Weekly Dessert– Kodiak Cakes Big Bear Brownies

My boo & I have been eyeing these brownies every time we’ve walked down the baking aisle. So this week we’re making them topped with vanilla ice cream & fresh raspberries.

What’s your favorite pre-autumn comfort food?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Weekly Dinner Menu 09.08.14

What do you think, Babe?

