Food, Seasonal

A Hanukkah Feast

Tomorrow night, I will be preparing the following menu for my Hanukkah celebration!

When cooking for friends, or anyone for that matter, I think it’s best not to put pressure on yourself to make everything from scratch. If you can make it without too much trouble, make it! If a recipe stresses you out, ditch it and go the store-bought route! It is your meal to make, and it is up to you to decide how you make it.

For the dinner I’ll be making, I’m going partially homemade. I’ll slow cook the brisket myself, but with seasoning help from a packet of Onion Soup Mix. Matzo Balls will be prepared from a helper packet as well, but I’ll add in fresh carrot to the soup. The green bean casserole will be mostly pre made, but I’ll make the Latkes from scratch. I’ll buy a Challah, and dessert will be a mix of store-bought and homemade treats. It’s all about balance babes!

Here’s my menu for a delicious and simple Hanukkah Feast:

Starter

  • Matzo Ball Soup- I bought this and I’m going to do as the box tells me to! Then I’ll float my matzo babes and sliced carrots in chicken stock. Boom! Soup’s on.

Main

  • Beef Brisket- I’ve shared this recipe before, but here it is once more. Thanks again Momma! I’ll season a medium-sized beef brisket with salt & pepper, then place the meat fat side up in my slow cooker. Next, I’ll pour a 14oz can of crushed tomatoes over top, adding up to one 14oz can of tomato sauce as needed. Then, I’ll sprinkle one packet of Lipton’s Onion Soup Mix over the meat, cover, and cook on low for 6 hours. Make sure to let your meat rest a bit (while covered) on a board or platter before slicing!

Sides

Dessert

  • Store bought Chocolate-Dipped Macaroons- Here’s a good recipe if you’d like to DIY.
  • My Version of Sufganiyot (Israeli Jelly Doughnuts)- I’m going to fry quartered biscuit dough in oil until golden, drain on paper towels, then top with powdered sugar. I’ll serve them with an easy raspberry dipping sauce.
  • Sprinkle Cookies- I’ll smash blue & white sprinkles into store-bought sugar cookie dough and bake according to package directions.

What foods are you making to celebrate Hanukkah?

Standard

What do you think, Babe?

